Fast Abstracts

A Fast Abstract/WiP paper is a lightly reviewed, two-page technical article either on  new ideas or work in progress, or opinion pieces that can address any issue relevant to dependable systems and networks.

Contributions are particularly solicited from industrial practitioners and academics who may not have been able to prepare full papers for DSN, but nevertheless seek an opportunity to engage with the DSN community.

Because they are brief and have a later deadline (see below), FastAbstracts/WiP papers enable their authors to:
• Summarize work that is not yet complete
• Put forward novel or challenging ideas
• State positions on controversial issues
• Suggest new approaches to the solution of open problems

Important Dates:
Deadline for submissions: April 6, 2015
Deadline for notifications: April 20, 2015

Submission Guidelines:
Fast Abstracts/WiP papers should be at most two pages in length, must be formatted using standard two-column IEEE format, and must be submitted by the above deadline. Since there is no revision cycle, the submitted papers must be in PDF format and completely ready for printing.

The two-column IEEE format layout guide is available at

Link for DSN 2015 FA/WiP submissions:

Selection and Notification:
Submissions will be refereed primarily on the basis of relevance to DSN and also on their capacity to stimulate and intrigue the reader.

Accepted contributions will be published in the supplementary volume of  the 2015 International Conference on Dependable Systems and Networks.

However, WiP/Fast Abstract papers are not included in IEEE Xplore and publication in the supplementary volume does not in any way limit future publications based on this work

For each accepted contribution, one of the authors will deliver a short talk (usually five minutes) in the Fast Abstracts/WiP tracks. Submission of a contribution indicates an agreement to have one author to present the work, if accepted, at the conference.

Chairs: Raimundo Macêdo (Brazil) and Fernando Pedone (Switzerland)

Program Committee
Andrea Bondavalli, University of Florence, IT
Fernando Pedone, University of Lugano, CH
Helene Waeselynck, LAAS-CNRS, FR
Joni da Silva Fraga, Federal University of Santa Catarina, BR
Lasaro Camargos, Federal University of Uberlândia, BR
Luiz Eduardo Buzato, State University of Campinas, BR
Raimundo Jose de Araújo Macêdo, Federal University of Bahia, BR
Richard Schlichting, AT&T Research, US
Rui Oliveira, University of Minho, PT